Paul Max EdlinComposer | Artistic Director | Lecturer | Performer

1997 (appx. 14’)

Programme note:

The ‘towers’ of the title are those of Cambodian King Suryarvarman II who built the vast funerary complex of Angkor Wat, now considered one of the seven wonders of the world. The music responds to the ground plan of the building and takes us on a literal journey through parts of the space, frequently responding directly to narrative bas-reliefs such as ‘The Churning of the Sea of Milk’. While this work stands up in its own right, it became the basis for a much larger work, ‘A Pilgrim of Angkor’, which is for full symphony orchestra, that work completing what was for me a compositional odyssey in which many monuments of South East Asia, informed and inspired my music.

Perusal score available on request and on deposit

This entry was posted in Piano Solo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *