Paul Max EdlinComposer | Artistic Director | Lecturer | Performer

2015 (appx 17″)

  1. Maze
  2. Lake
  3. Towers
  4. Nocturne
  5. Puzzle

4. 3. 3. 3 – – hp, celeste, 3 perc., – standard strings

Programme Note:

The birth of this score has taken about thirty years.  The first four pieces in this set are a reworking of pieces for piano duo that I completed in the early 1980s.  However, I always wanted to create orchestral version of these pieces, feeling their range of colours ideally suited to such large forces.   The reworking became, in part, compositional too, and a final movement, creating an arch shape design felt right.  I knew that this work should begin high and relentlessly tumble to the depths.  The creation of this piece happened so easily and became a total pleasure.  The titles of the five movements are suggestions only, aimed at focusing thoughts, just as Debussy’s titles for his piano preludes do.  However, the overall title ‘Illusions’ was easy to reach.  These are illusions in every sense – surreal and dreamlike images that I enjoy inhabiting.  The work is dedicated to my partner, Giuliana Gomiero, who inspired me to create these orchestral pieces.     © Paul Max Edlin 2015


This entry was posted in Orchestra. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *